Augusta Bar Statement on Circuit Split

To the Members of the Augusta Bar Association:

As many of you already know, Georgia Senate Bill 9, which creates the Columbia Judicial Circuit for Columbia County, was signed by Gov. Brian Kemp last week. The effective date of the law is July 1, 2021.

Although the effect of the law is to divide the current Augusta Judicial Circuit into two separate circuits, the Augusta Bar Association will remain committed to all of our members and eligible members in Burke, Columbia, and Richmond Counties. As one of the oldest bar associations in Georgia, our mission has not changed in more than 100 years. We will continue to include, serve, and support our members in all three counties by providing valuable information, programs, and other opportunities to “maintain the honor and dignity of the profession of the law, to increase its usefulness, promote the due administration of justice, and to cultivate social intercourse among its members.”

On behalf of the Executive Committee, I encourage all of you to continue to support the Augusta Bar Association. Our work is important to the legal profession and to the communities we serve.

Please contact me at if you have any questions.

Thank you.

Steve Sanders